Meet the Director

The University of Calgary’s Cumming School of Medicine and Alberta Health Services Calgary Zone are pleased to announce the appointment of Steven Boyd, PhD, as Director of the McCaig Institute for Bone and Joint Health. The appointment is effective January 1, 2016.

Boyd has been a member of the McCaig Institute since 2002. Founded by Mr. J.R (Bud) McCaig, the McCaig Institute is home to a multidisciplinary team of scientists, engineers, clinicians and health system researchers who have established a world-class research program to enhance the prevention and treatment of bone and joint conditions, in order to keep people moving.

In addition to this new role, Boyd is also the scientific director of the Centre for Mobility and Joint Health, a new $17.9 million initiative at the McCaig Institute that will be the only facility in the world to assess an individual’s bone and joint health by integrating state-of-the-art mobility, biomarker and imaging data. By embracing the full spectrum of musculoskeletal research, from molecular mechanisms to patient care, the McCaig Institute will implement a strategy founded in precision medicine to keep Albertans pain-free and mobile.

Boyd is a professor in the Cumming School of Medicine’s Department of Radiology, and has cross appointments in the Faculty of Kinesiology and the Schulich School of Engineering. He received his PhD in mechanical engineering (biomechanics) from the University of Calgary and did postdoctoral work in biomedical engineering at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology. 

His current research is in the area of orthopaedic biomechanics, focusing on adaptive changes to tissues that occur following a joint injury or disease, with particular interest in bone. He is the Bob and Nola Rintoul Chair in Bone and Joint Research and an Alberta Innovates-Health Solutions’ Senior Scholar.

Boyd has authored more than 100 publications and has been a consultant for numerous industry partners.


Executive Committee

The executive committee members are appointed by the Director of the Institute on an annual basis. The committee meets once each month and their primary responsibility is to provide leadership and direction for the McCaig Institute.  The Members are:

Steven Boyd, PhD, Director

Marv Fritzler, PhD, MD, former  Director

Derrick Rancourt, PhD, Chair of the Education, Training, and Mentorship Committee

Francois Bernier, PhD, Department Head representative and Chair of the Paediatrics and ACH

Kevin Hildebrand, MD, FRCSC, Associate Director (Clinical Research)

David Hart, PhD, Chair of the Expert Advisory Committee

Cheryl Barnabe, MD

Andres Kroker, Representative from Trainee Leadership Committee

Marilyn McCaig, Chair of the Strategic Advisory Board

Walter Herzog, PhD, Chair of the BioMedical Engineering Committee


Executive Committee Staff List

Terri May, Manager, Business and Operations

Elisa Park Kim, Project Manager

Nancy Whelan, Communications and Events Coordinator

Anna Urbanska, Executive Assistant

Jessica Tink, Manager, Business and Operations (maternity leave coverage)


Research Committee

Kevin Hildebrand, MD, FRSC, Chair

Yves Pauchard, PhD

Benedikt Hallgrimsson, PhD

Campbell Rolian, PhD

David Hart, PhD

Deborah Marshall, PhD

Dianne Mosher, MD

Paul Salo, MD

Roman Krawetz, PhD

Steven Boyd, PhD, Director and Co-Chair


Education, Training and Mentorship Committee

Derrick Rancourt, PhD, Chair

Pierre-Yves Legace, PhD, Trainee Rep.

Roman Krawetz, PhD

John Bertram, PhD

Heinrike Schmeling, PhD

John Matyas, PhD