The McCaig Institute's Seminars usually take place on Wednesdays at noon, except for the first week of the month when we have a special seminar on Monday at noon. To receive email alerts about speakers and topics sign up by clicking here.

 

McCaig Institute Seminar Series Organizing Committee

The Seminar Series is put together by a group of dedicated student leaders. Speakers and topics are chosen to reflect the breadth of the research produced by members of the McCaig Institute. If you are interested in joining the committee or doing a presentation please contact a member of the organizing committee.

 

Christopher Urbinsky (christopher.urbinsky@ucalgary.ca)

Geoff Michalak (geoffrey.michalak@ucalgary.ca)

Tomasz Bugajiski (tbugajsk@ucalgary.ca)

Rebecca Green (rgree@ucalgary.ca)

 

Seminar Pic_X Small.jpg

Seminar Schedule: Fall 2016/Winter 2017

Date Time & Place
Speaker & Topic
Notes
Tuesday 13-Sept-2016 12 - 1 pm
HRIC Atrium
McCaig Seminar Series Welcome Back BBQ
Wednesday 21-Sept-2016 12 - 1 pm
Theatre 1
Kristen Barton: Use of a Glucocorticoid to MitigatePost-Traumatic Osteoarthritis Development in the Ovine Knee
Wednesday 28-Sept-2016 12 - 1 pm
HS O1500
Dr. Poay Lim: Traumatic Injury Image Processing and Analysis - From Venous Thrombosis to Fractured Vertebrae
Wednesday 5-Oct-2016 12 - 1 pm
Theatre 1
No Seminar
Wednesday 12-Oct-2016 12 - 1 pm
HS O1500
Dr. Kimiora Henare: Can we STING macrophages back into action against Cancer?
Monday 17-Oct-2016 12 - 1 pm

Dr. Frank Beier: Mouse Models in Osteoarthritis Research    Distinguished Speaker
Wednesday 26-Oct-2016 3-4 pm
Theatre 1
Dr. Frank Barry: Mesenchymal Stem Cells (MSCs)in Orthopedic Medicine    Visiting Speaker
Wednesday 02-Nov-2016 12 - 1 pm
HS O1500
Dr. Richard Walker: Imaging of the Meniscus: In Health and Dysfunction
Wednesday 09-Nov-2016 12 - 1 pm
HS O1500
Dr. Benedikt Hallgrimsson
Wednesday 16-Nov-2016 12 - 1 pm
Theatre 1
Dr. Michael Kallos
Wednesday 23-Nov-2016 No Seminar - McCaig Town Hall
Wednesday 30-Nov-2016 12 - 1 pm
HS O1500
Dr. Frinzel: Validation of HR-pQCT as an Outcome Tool in Rheumatoid Arthritis    Distinguished Speaker
Monday 05-Dec-2016 11:30am to 1pm
HS O1500
Dr. Voll: Treatment of refractory systemic lupus erythematosus with proteasome inhibitors    Distinguished Speaker
Wednesday 14-Dec-2016 12 - 1 pm
HS O1500
Dr. Deborah Marshall
Wednesday 11-Jan-2017

12 - 1 pm
HS O1500
Amin Komeili: Mechanics of Cartilage Damage
Wednesday 18-Jan-2017 12 - 1 pm
Theatre 1
Jacqueline Rios: Exercise and Dietary Intervention in a Model of Metabolic Osteoarthritis. 
Wednesday 25-Jan-2017 12 - 1 pm
HS O1500
Cheryl Barnabee: Optimizing Arthritis Outcomes in Indigenous Populations in Alberta - A Health Systems Approach
Wednesday 01-Feb-2017 12 - 1 pm
Theatre 1
Adalberto Loyola: Developing a new arthritis care model in the Siksika Nation
Wednesday 8-Feb-2017 12 - 1 pm
Theatre 1
Dr. John Bertram: Is a new perspective on walking possible at this late date? Would it help?
Wednesday 15-Feb-2017 12 - 1 pm
Theatre 1
Dr Dianne Mosher: Personalized Medicine in MSK Disease
Wednesday 22-Feb-2017 12 - 1 pm
Theatre 1
Ifaz Haider: An Investigation on the Influence of Stumbling Loads on Femoral Fracture Risk, using a Novel Gradient Enhanced Quasi-Brittle Finite Element Model
Wednesday 01-Mar-2017 3-4 pm
Theatre 3
Dr. Fackson Mwale, McGill University: Intervertebral disc degeneration. Why does it occur and can it be repaired? Distinguished Speaker
Monday 06-Mar-2017 12 - 1 pm
HS O1500
Gulshan Sharma: Structure – Function Characterization of the Tibiofemoral Cartilage in the Post-Traumatic Knee Monday Seminar
Wednesday 15-Mar-2017 12 - 1 pm
Theatre 1
Dr. Sarah Manske: Measuring change in Joint Space and Erosions in the Manifestation of
Rheumatoid Arthritis
Wednesday 22-Mar-2017 12 - 1 pm
HS O1500
Saleem Abubacker: Lubricin: more than just joint lubrication
Wednesday 29-Mar-2017 12 - 1 pm
Theatre 1
Marta Marchini
Wednesday 05-Apr-2017 12 - 1 pm
Theatre 1
Tegan Barry & Kevin Duclos (Jamniczky Lab)
Wednesday 12-Apr-2017 12 - 1 pm
HS O1500
Hallgrimsson lab
Wednesday 19-Apr-2017 12 - 1 pm
Theatre 1
Dr. Schaible
Wednesday 26-Apr-2017 12 - 1 pm
HS O1500
Boyd Lab
Wednesday 03-May-2017
12 - 1 pm
Theatre 1
Industry Month
Wednesday 10-May-2017 12 - 1 pm
HS O1500
Industry Month
Wednesday 17-May-2017 12 - 1 pm
Theatre 1
Industry Month
Wednesday 24-May-2017 12 - 1 pm
HS O1500
Industry Month
Wednesday 31-May-2017 12 - 1 pm
HS O1500
Industry Month
Wednesday 07-Jun-2017
12 - 1pm
Theatre 1
Year End BBQ