Leadership Compass_000019996666 XSmall.jpg

Strategic Advisory Board

This Board defines and guides the vision, strategy and expectations of the Institute so that its full potential is realized. The Board is accountable for:

  • promoting partnerships that enhance the potential for the Institute’s success
  • alignment and effective working relationships with the Alberta Health Services (AHS) and the University of Calgary (UofC) that lead to shared success
  • the success of the Institute’s Director and the Community and Partners Advisory Committee
  • the community reflecting pride and confidence in the Institute
  • ensuring the evaluation of programs such that they meet the highest international standards

The Strategic Advisory Board is chaired by Mrs. Marilyn McCaig.

  • Chair of SAB appointed by Alberta Health Services-Calgary Zone/UofC – Mrs. Marilyn McCaig
  • Chair of CPAC – Mrs. Marilyn McCaig
  • Appointee of the University of Calgary Faculty of Medicine - Gerald Zamponi, PhD
  • Appointee of AHS - Kit Johnson
  • Division Chief of Orthopaedics or Division Chief of Rheumatology - Dianne Mosher, MD
  • Member appointed by the AHS and the UofC - Nicholas Mohtadi
  • Chair of Alberta Bone Joint and Joint Health Institute – Mr. Ian Robinson
  • Member of the Community Partner Advisory Committee - Ms. Dianna Mulherin
  • Community Representative - Terry Owen
  • Community Business leader - Kawal Sandhu
  • McCaig Institute Director (as a non-voting member) - Steven Boyd, PhD

Community & Partners Advisory Committee

The mandate of this Committee is to:

  • be an advocate for the Institute’s programs and program needs
  • be a window on the needs of the community to inform program development
  • contribute to realizing the Institute’s potential to achieve the highest international standards
  • support and enhance the synergy of the Institute’s activities with related programs in Alberta

The Members are:

  • Mrs. Marilyn McCaig, Chair
  • Mr. Tom Buchanan
  • Mr. and Mrs. Peter & Kim Cohos
  • Mr. and Mrs. John & Barbara Feick
  • Mr. and Mrs. Craig & Laurie Hansen
  • Mrs. Samara Felesky Hunt
  • Mr. Ken King
  • Ms. JoAnn McCaig
  • Mr. Rod McDaniel
  • Ms. Suzan Olsen
  • Mr. Terry Owen
  • Mr. and Mrs. Bob and Nola Rintoul
  • Mr. and Mrs. Bill & Toshimi Sembo
  • Mr. Tony VandenBrink
  • Marv Fritzler, PhD, MD

Research Committee

  • Kevin Hildebrand, Chair
  • Steven Boyd, Co-Chair
  • Deborah Marshall
  • Dave Hart
  • Yves Pauchard
  • Benedikt Hallgrimmsson
  • Roman Krawetz
  • Dianne Mosher
  • Campbell Rolian
  • Paul Salo

Education, Training and Mentorship Committee

  • Derrick Rancourt, Chair
  • Roman Krawetz
  • John Bertram, Acting Chair
  • Heather Jamniczky
  • Heinrike Schmelling
  • John Matyas

Trainee Leadership Committee

  • Andrew Michalski, Chair
  • Terri May, Co-Chair
  • John Sevick
  • Alyssa Morin
  • Saleem Abubacker
  • Christina Jablonski